Video Game Rating T-M: What does it mean?

ESRB "Mature 17+" rating symbol, dis...

Image via Wikipedia

I don’t allow video games with an ESRB rating of M into my home.

The ESRB ratings gude says that “(t)itles rated M (Mature) have content that may be suitable for persons ages 17 and older. Titles in this category may contain intense violence, blood and gore, sexual content and/or strong language.”

No thanks. I as an adult generally choose not expose myself to such things. Why would I allow my 12-, 10- and 7-year-olds such exposure?

Recently a friend of Cool Breeze wanted him to get a video game with a rating of T-M. He  knows my rule, but he brought this “T-M” game to the house to play.

“What does that mean?” I asked.

“Oh, you can adjust the settings to make it one or the other,” friend said. It didn’t sound right to me.

I could find nothing online explaining this kind of rating, so I sent an email to the ESRB, and was pleasantly surprised to get a response in less than a week. Here was the reply:

“(W)hat you describe is a compilation rating icon, which will usually appear on hardware and compilation video game packaging.  For example, a single package may contain a Mature-rated game and, perhaps as a bonus, a copy of an earlier installment of the game which carries a Teen rating. In such an instance the product packaging would display a compilation T-M rating icon like that which appears on the game about which you inquired.”

Mystery solved. Sorry friend.

About Melissa W. Sais

I am a freelance writer, copywriter, ghostwriter and blogger. Contact me for your next creative project.
This entry was posted in gaming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Video Game Rating T-M: What does it mean?

  1. teknophilia says:

    And now, the ESRB is thinking about automating the rating process: http://yhoo.it/f6hPot

  2. Pingback: Read Digital Mom | Melissa W. Sais | Albuquerque freelance writer

Leave a Reply

